LEADER South Map

serachicoUse our Search by Electoral Division to find out which Local Development Company to apply to.

The South Cork Local Community Development Committee (LCDC) – a Committee of Cork County Council – is confirmed as the new LEADER Local Action Group (LAG) for South Cork and the programme officially commenced on the 1st December 2016. The new group – branded “LEADER South Cork” – manages the allocation of €3.8 million in LEADER funding across South Cork for the period 2016-2020.

In addition Cork County Council is providing a supplementary Community Development Initiative Fund of €1m to support the LEADER programme which brings the total funding available to communities in South Cork to € 4.8 million. The programme is being rolled out by a consortium of the South Cork LAG and the four incumbent local development companies operating in the South Cork Council division namely; Avondhu-Blackwater Partnership, IRD Duhallow, Údarás na Gaeltachta and SECAD.

The LEADER Programme supports local and community projects across a diverse range of themes including; Rural tourism, enterprise development, rural towns, access to broadband, basic services targeted at hard-to-reach communities, rural youth, protection and sustainable use of water resources, protection and improvement of local biodiversity, and development of renewable energy.

The programme is co-financed by the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development.

Members of the newly formed LAG include;

Name Organisation
Cllr. Cathal Rasmussen (Chair) Cork County Council
Cllr. Michael Hegarty  (Vice-Chair) Cork County Council
Cllr. Seamus McGrath Cork County Council
Cllr. Marcia D’Alton Cork County Council
Ms. Valerie O’Sullivan Divisional Manager Cork County Council
Mr. Sean O’Sullivan South Cork LEO,
Mr. Dónal Ó Liatháin Údarás na Gaeltachta
Ms. John Lyne Department of Social Protection
Mr. John Fitzgibbons Cork ETB
Mr. Ryan Howard SECAD
Ms. Maura Walsh IRD Duhallow,
Mr. Pat Roche Avondhu Blackwater Partnership CLG
Mr. Liam MacCarthy PPN
Mr. Tom Howard PPN
Ms. Mary O’ Leary Environmental Pillar
Mr. Thomas McHugh Cork Chamber
Mr. Jimmy Hosford Agricultural Pillar
Mr. Brian Williams Youth Pillar

[foogallery id=”328″]